How to stop Siri from recording your conversations

Learn how to stop Siri from recording your conversations and then being analyzed by Apple. Discover how to remove your data permanently.

Siri User Guide
Siri User Guide

In mid-2019, The Guardian revealed that Apple – in the form of human contractors – listened to recordings of people using Siri. Even though the process was intended to improve the service, the news still caused some concerns.

In fact, a minimal number of interactions were recorded – up to around 1,000 a day – the Apple contractors used them to assess Siri’s responses.

Unfortunately, if users accidentally triggered Siri, recordings could be sent to Apple that contained potentially sensitive or private data. Apple said:

“A small portion of Siri requests are analyzed to improve Siri and dictation. User requests are not associated with the user’s Apple ID. Siri responses are analyzed in secure facilities, and all reviewers are under the obligation to adhere to Apple’s strict confidentiality requirements.”

Since then, Apple has responded to the issue. The iOS 13.2 update introduced the ability to delete your recorded data from Apple’s servers and prevent recordings in the future.

The changes also cover:

  • iPadOS 13.2
  • watchOS 6.1
  • tvOS 13.2
  • macOS Catalina 10.15.1

From iOS 13.2, you can choose how you want your data handled. If you later change your mind, you can alter your preferences in Settings.

You can use the nuclear option and turn off Siri, but it’s easy enough to delete your existing data and prevent future recording by following the steps below.

How to delete your data recorded by Siri on an iPhone

  • On iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch:
  • Open the Settings app
  • Scroll down to Siri & Search > Siri & Dictation History
  • Choose Delete Siri & Dictation History
Stop Recordings

How to prevent conversations from being recorded in the future

On iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch:

  • Open the Settings app
  • Scroll down to Privacy
  • Select Analytics & Improvements
  • Toggle the Improve Siri & Dictation switch on or off, depending on your preference.
Delete Recordings

How to delete your data recorded by Siri on a Mac

  • Open System Preferences
  • Select Siri
  • Press Delete Siri & Dictation History
macOS Delete Data

Now your data is no longer sent to Apple for grading. Of course, you can change your preferences at any time if you wish.

Want to discover more about using Siri, Apple’s popular virtual assistant? We’ve written a helpful collection of tutorials full of techniques for using apps, dictation, using Siri Shortcuts, and a comprehensive beginner’s guide to activating and using Siri.

TutorialsiPhoneMac